This is the "Home" page of the "6th Grade Database Introduction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

6th Grade Database Introduction  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bernardsboe.com/6thDBIntro Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information

 Username/passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username/password information.)

Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive (My Documents) or a flash drive, or e-mailed home.

 


 

World Book Online

World BookWorld Book:  (Reference or encyclopedia articles)   

  • Click on World Book link above. 

  • Select the database  Student.
     
  • Type your keyword(s) in the search box. Click Search.

  • In Tools box, select Email article to send a copy of the article to your home email or Save article to save  the article on your USB drive. 

  • Citation information is at the end of  the article. 

 

 

EBSCOhost Kids Search

 EBSCOhost: (Collection of many different types of databases)


Ebsco host Kids SearchEBSCOhost Kids Search:

  • Click on EBSCOhost icon.  Click on the database Kids Search. 
  • Click on the database Kids Search. 
  • Type your keyword(s) in the search box. Click Search.

  • Sort by: select Relevance if you have many articles.
  • Filter results by: select Magazine tab to only look at magazine articles.
  •  Narrow Results by Subject.  Choose the best subject for your topic.
  •  Citation info is at top of article in “Author”, “Title”, “Source” fields.

  •  Email an article home.  Remember some articles are in PDF format.

 

Database Characteristics

  • dollar sign    Databases cost money to access, are not open to everyone.

  •         Databases are owned and maintained by a company.

 

 

  •    Databases contain articles from different sources - magazines, newspapers, books, encyclopedias, etc.

 

  •  honesty image           Database articles are good, trustworthy information.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip