Skip to main content

7th Grade Database Review: Home

Review of using databases to find magazine articles.

General Information

Databases listed in this pathfinder match the databases listed in your Using Databases for Research worksheet for finding information about your topics.

 Username/passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username/password information.)

Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive (My Documents) or a flash drive, or e-mailed home.

 

At the bottom of most articles is the article citation information.  It is not always in MLA format.

World Book Online

World Book Online:  (Reference or encyclopedia articles)

Use either Kids or Student databases.  Type your keyword(s) in search box.

Citation information is at the end of the article.

You have options to print, email or save articles in the Tools box.

Save in PDF format if available.

EBSCOhost Kids Search/Student Research Center

EBSCOhost Kids Search or Student Research Center

Try Kids Search or Student Research Center databases. 

Sort by results: select Relevance if you have many articles.

Filter results by: select Magazine tab.

 Narrow Results by Subject.  Choose the best subject for your topic.

Citation info is at the top of the article – look for “Author”, “Title”, “Source” fields.

You have the option to save, print or email articles.  Many articles have PDF format available as well.

EBSCOhost Points of View

EBSCOhost Points of View: 

Try  Points of View  databases. 

Sort by results: select Relevance if you have many articles.

Filter results by: select Magazine tab

Narrow Results by Subject.  Choose the best subject for your topic.

Citation info is at the top of the article – look for “Author”, “Title”, “Source” fields.

You have the option to save, print or email articles.  Many articles have PDF format available as well.

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer: (Reference and news/magazine articles)

 

Leave Sort by Relevance (the default) selected; articles closest to your topic will be at the beginning of the results list from your search.

Search on Subject headings if you’re not sure about your keyword terms and you will get back a list of keywords related to what you type in.  Click the best choice of keyword for your topic.

If you want to search the keyword(s) you type in, leave Keyword/Natural Language selected. 

Click on Magazine tab at top of screen to only look at magazine article results.

Once you have chosen an article, you can get citation information by clicking Source & Summary at the top of the screen.  

You must copy/paste to a WORD doc to save an article, or you can email home or print.