This is the "Databases" page of the "8th Grade Language Arts Argument Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

8th Grade Language Arts Argument Research  

Last Updated: Nov 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.bernardsboe.com/8thLAArgument Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Documents

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

             Opposing Viewpoints In Context Web imageClick on the icon.       Enter password if outside of school.

 

  • SEARCH: Type keywords in search box at top of screen, or scroll down screen and select a general topic or click on a specific topic link.
  • CHOOSE ARTICLE: Results are list of articles organized by type of article and related to your keywords.  Browse the titles and click on title to view articles.
  • SAVE ARTICLE: Log into Google at top of screen.  In Tools menu at right,  select DOWNLOAD and Save to Google Drive and Download. Your article will be saved in a Google Doc in My Drive in a folder called Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
  • CITATION: At top of article or in MLA format at bottom of article. 
 

EBSCOhost Explora Databases

         Ebsco host Kids Search    Click on the EBSCOhost icon.       Click login and enter password if outside of school.

Any of these databases listed would be good sources: Explora Secondary School,  Points of View (not the Overview/Pro/Con articles), Science Reference Center.

Explora Secondary School:

  • SEARCH: Type keywords in search bar at top of screen.
  • CHOOSE ARTICLE: Browse article titles and abstracts. Choose an article by clicking on the title. Articles display as PDF files.
  • SAVE ARTICLE:  Click on Email icon on the right -email to your personal email account (preferably a Gmail account). Put in Subject line.  Check off HTML or PDF options.  Change Standard Field option to Detailed Citation and Abstract.  Change Citation Format to MLA. Email attachment of article can then be saved to your Google Drive.  See Mrs. Goetjen for other ways to save articles if you don't have a personal email account.
  • CITATION: Will be in email or saved article in MLA format.
 

Research in Context

Research in Context: (Reference eBooks, and Reference, Magazine, Journal and Newspaper articles, Images)

  • CHOOSE DATABASE: Click Research in Context link. Enter password and click Proceed if accessing from home.
  • KEYWORDS: Type in your keywords  in search box at top of screen.
  • CHOOSE ARTICLE: Click on the type of articles you would like to look at.  Browse articles to choose one that best answers one or more of your research questions.
  • SAVE ARTICLE: Log into Google at top of screen (@bernardsboe.com) In Tools box, click DOWNLOAD, Save to Google Drive and Download. Your article will be saved in a Google Doc in My Drive in a folder called Research in Context.
  • CITATION: At top of article or in MLA format at bottom of article. 
 

GALE Virtual Reference Library

           GALE Virtual Reference Library  (Reference eBooks)

  • DATABASE: Click Proceed.
  • SEARCH: Type keywords in search box at top of screen to search all eBooks.
  • CHOOSE Chapter: Results are list of eBook sections/chapters related to your topic.  Click on chapter title orange link to open.
  • SAVE ARTICLE: Log into Google at top of screen.  In Tools menu at right,  select DOWNLOAD and Save to Google Drive and Download.Your article will be saved in a Google Doc in My Drive in a folder called GALE Virtual Reference Library.
  • CITATION: At top of article or in MLA format at bottom of article. 

 

Proquest

ProQuest  (Available in school only)

Click on Proquest. Now includes newspapers, magazines and journals!

Keyword search: First select Full Text box then enter keywords from your Research Guide.

  • Related searches: Box at top. Can click on any that seem useful for your topic.
  • Icons on left: Indicate Content (source) type,( i.e. Magazines, journals, newspapers)
  • Preview: Hover over or click Preview button to see pop-up window with article Abstract.

Getting quality results: (Features on right side of screen)

  • Sort:  by Relevance is default (recommended.)
  • Narrow Results by: Can limit your results by article type, subject, etc.

Emailing/Saving:

  • Tools: Box on right of article screen. Choose Email, Print or Export to PDF.

  • Email, For Content select Full-text, click Bibliography checkbox and Citation Style – MLA7. Click Continue.
  • For Export/Save, select PDF, Full-text, click Bibliography checkbox and Citation Style –MLA7.
 

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer                                                                            

  • Keyword Search:  Enter your chosen keywords in the search box and hit Enter.
  • Sort by:  default is Date. Change to Relevance if you have a lot of results.

OR

  • Scroll down and select Pro/Con Leading Issues
  • Select your topic from the list.
  • Read through Topic Overview and Essential Questions to get some ideas on your issue.
  • Click on the article links related to your topic.

Once you've chosen an article:

  • Tools Bar on left of screen: To save an article, you can Email it to yourself, Print it out or copy/paste the text and citation to a Google Doc file or to the Direct Quotations section of a NoodleTools Notecard.

General Information

 Username/passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your  student assignment pad or ask Media Center staff.)

Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive,  flash drive or Google Doc file, or  e-mailed to a personal email address.

      
     

    Gr 8 Research Planning

     

    2016 Updated NoodleTools for Citations

     

    2016 NoodleTools Notes Feature

     

    2016 NoodleTools Outline Feature

     

    What is a Database?

     

    Differences Between Databases and Web Sites

     

    Good Note-taking Skills

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip