Skip to main content

Hiaasen Literary Cafe: Florida Everglades - Endangered Species

Welcome

Welcome to the Carl Hiaasen Literary Cafe!

In this online activity, you will visit 3 stations and follow the directions on the web page for each station.  This will include using some of the databases you have recently learned about to search and read more about a topic related to the Hiaasen books, Hoot, Flush, Scat, Chomp, and Skink.  

Read and follow carefully the directions in the box Directions for this Cafe Station on each web page.

Cafe Station Directions

Directions For This ENDANGERED SPECIES Cafe Station:

Carl Hiaasen is the author of many adult and children’s novels that take place in the Florida Everglades.  At this café station, you will learn about some of the endangered species in the Florida Everglades – their threats and what’s being done to help them.

Work in pairs and follow these directions to learn about ONE of the following species: Burrowing owl, Florida panther, Loggerhead turtle, OR West Indian Manatee.  

Directions:
1. Choose ONE of the four species listed above to research.

2. Scroll down and follow the directions in the Research Resources box below to find a database article to learn about that endangered species.

3. Complete the graphic organizer to describe your chosen endangered species.

Research Resources

 

Research Resources - Research Using the Databases

Find an article about ONE of these endangered species: Burrowing Owls, Florida Panther, Loggerhead Turtle, West Indian Manatee from a database using the directions below.

 

BURROWING OWL:

1. Go to the GALE in Context-Middle School database and search using the keywords Burrowing owl.

2. Scroll down to the Magazine articles white box and click on the heading Magazines. Find and READ the article, Banding the Burrowing Owl.

3. Go to SIRS DISCOVERER database and search using the keywords Burrowing owl.   Select and READ the first article (first 3 paragraphs ONLYNationwide Efforts to Save Burrowing Owls.

3. Save one of these articles to your Google Drive by clicking on the Google Drive icon Image result for google drive icon tiny

_______________________________________________________________________________

FLORIDA PANTHER: 

1. Go to the SIRS DISCOVERER database and search using the keywords Florida panther (notice no "s" on panther)

2. Find and READ these two articles:

First article in the results list:

---------Reference article Florida Panther
Scroll near the bottom of this results list, find and read:

---------Magazine article No Fun in the Sun

3. Save at least one of the articles to your Google Drive by clicking on the Google Drive icon Image result for google drive icon tiny

_______________________________________________________________________________

LOGGERHEAD TURTLE:

1. Go to the GALE in Context-Science database and search using the keywords Loggerhead Turtle.

2. Click on the References heading to view the reference articles.  Select and READ the article titled Loggerhead Sea Turtle (Caretta caretta)​.

3. Save the article to your Google Drive by clicking on the Google Drive icon Image result for google drive icon tiny

_______________________________________________________________________________

WEST INDIAN MANATEE:

1. Go to the GALE in Context-Middle School database and search using the keywords West Indian Manatee.

2. Click on the References heading to view the reference articles.  Select and READ the article titled Manatee, West Indian.

3. Save the article to your Google Drive by clicking on the Google Drive icon Image result for google drive icon tiny