Skip to main content

Using Google Apps (@bernardsboe.com): Google Slides

What is Google Slides?

Google Slides is a a cloud-based presentation making tool - it's like  Microsoft PowerPoint but Google's version! 

You can create a presentation, name a presentation and edit a presentation in a similar way to PowerPoint, but Slides has fewer transitions, themes.etc.  

You DO NOT have to save a Google Slides file!  Google does that for you automatically!

Creating with Google Slides

You can create and name documents, spreadsheets, and presentations in the Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides home screens. Your Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides files are then available to edit, share, and work on with others.

Create a presentation file:

  1. From Google Drive, click on the red New button, and select Slides.
  2. This will create and open your new presentation file.
  3. You can begin editing the presentation file.

Name or Rename a presentation file:

When you create a new presentation, it is  named “Untitled” by default. To rename the file:

  1. Open the document, spreadsheet, or presentation.
  2. Go to the File menu, select Rename OR click directly on the "Untitled" name at the top of the screen.
  3. Type a name for your file.
  4. Click OK.

Saving a presentation file:

       1. Nope, nothing to do!  Google automaticially saves your file and edits every few seconds!

Sharing a Google Slides file

Sharing a file:                                MAIN picAUg 27sdw.png

  1. From Google Drive, select the file you want to share.

  2. Choose the Share icon.pngShare icon in the top-right.

    OR

    Open the file you want to share, and click the blue SHARE button in top right of screen.

  3. Add the people you wish to share the file with into the sharing box. Start typing their name and a pop up list of students/teachers will appear. Click on the person you wish to share the file with.

  4. Click the dropdown arrow to the right of each person's name and choose the type of access you want to give to each person you are sharing with: To edit or To view or To comment

    To edit:  The person can make changes to the file AND share it with other people.

    To view: The person can ONLY view the file - not make changes.

    To comment: The person can ONLY make comments on the file.

  5. Uncheck the "Notify people via email" box and Click Sendthen click Done.

  6. Select the Activity view to track the sharing changes for your file if you wish.