Usernames and passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username and password information.)
Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive (My Documents) or a flash drive, or e-mailed home.
GALE Virtual Reference Library
GALE Virtual Reference Library (Reference eBooks)
- DATABASE: Click the GALE Virtual Reference Library link.
- CHOOSE EBOOK: Click onScience in the subject section box. Click on Chemical Elements (2010) cover.
- KEYWORDS: Type in your element name in "within publication" search box on the right. Select button for "all volumes in this edition" and click the magnifying glass.
- CHOOSE Chapter: Results are list of eBook sections/chapters related to your topic. Click on chapter with your element name.
- CITATION INFO: At top of page in pale tan box.
- DOWNLOAD: Click DOWNLOAD in Tool box on right of article. Default is Save to Google Drive. Click DOWNLOAD. Say "Allow" if GALE database asks to access your Google Drive. eBook chapter will be found in a folder called GALE Virtual Reference Library in My Drive.
Science in Context
Science in Context: (Reference eBooks, Reference, Magazines, Newspapers)
- CHOOSE DATABASE: Click Science in Context link. Click Proceed
- KEYWORDS: Type in your element name in search box at top of screen.
- CHOOSE ARTICLE: Choose Reference. Choose article with your element name as title and an orange square (reading level.) SORT by Content Level if needed.
- SAVE ARTICLE: DOWNLOAD: Click DOWNLOAD in Tool box on right of article. Default is Save to Google Drive. Click DOWNLOAD. Say "Allow" if GALE database asks to access your Google Drive. eBook chapter will be found in a folder called Science in Context in My Drive.
- CITATION: At top of article or in MLA format at bottom of article. May be a Reference source or E-Book. Ask if unsure.
World Book Online
World Book: (Reference encyclopedia articles)
- DATABASE: Select World Book Student.
- KEYWORDS: Type your element name in the search box. Click Search.
- ARTICLE TYPE: Look for article with name of your element.
- EMAIL/SAVE: Tools box at top of article: Click Email article to send article home or click Save article to save on your USB or personal (H) drive.
- CITATION INFO: At bottom of article in MLA format.