6th Grade Science - Periodic Table Elements: Databases

Citations and Works Cited Post-Assessment

 Usernames and passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username and password information.)

Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive (My Documents) or a flash drive, or e-mailed home.

GALE Virtual Reference Library (Reference eBooks)

• CHOOSE DATABASE: Click GALE Virtual Reference Library link.
   
• CHOOSE eBOOK: Scroll to Science section. Click on Chemical Elements cover (white cover with copyright 2010)
   
• KEYWORDS: Type in your element name in search box on top. Make sure it says “Within publication”.
   
• CHOOSE Chapter: Click on chapter named with your element name.
   
• SAVE TO GOOGLE DRIVE:
  • In Tools box, click Download,
  • Select Save to Google Drive,
  • Click Download button. 
  • You may be prompted to sign into Google Drive if you are not already signed in. 
  • If asked for permission to access your Google Drive by database, click Accept. 
  • Article is saved in a folder named GALE Virtual Reference Library in My Drive.
     
• CITATION INFO: At top of article

Science in Context: (Reference eBooks, Reference, Magazines, Newspapers)

• CHOOSE DATABASE: Click Science in Context link. Click Proceed
• KEYWORDS: Type in your element name in search box at top of screen.
• CHOOSE ARTICLE: Choose Reference. Choose article with your element name as title and an orange square (reading level.) SORT by Content Level if needed.
   
• SAVE TO GOOGLE DRIVE:
  • In Tools box, click Download,
  • Select Save to Google Drive,
  • Click Download button. 
  • You may be prompted to sign into Google Drive if you are not already signed in. 
  • If asked for permission to access your Google Drive by database, click Accept. 
  • Article is saved in a folder named GALE Virtual Reference Library in My Drive.
     
• CITATION: At top of article or in MLA format at bottom of article. May be a Reference source or E-Book. Ask if unsure.

World Book:  (Reference  encyclopedia articles)   

• DATABASE: Select World Book Student.
• KEYWORDS: Type your element name  in the search box. Click Search.
• ARTICLE TYPE: Look for article with name of your element.
• EMAIL/SAVE: Tools box at top of article: Click Email article to send article home or click Save article to save on your USB or personal (H) drive.
• CITATION INFO:  At bottom of article in MLA format.

These videos are best viewed in the Chrome browser (even on Mac laptops!)  If you have difficulty viewing any of these videos, try another browser like Firefox or Internet Explorer.