This is the "Databases" page of the "WAMS Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WAMS Databases   Tags: research  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2015 URL: http://libguides.bernardsboe.com/wamsdatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases - MAGAZINE, NEWSPAPER, JOURNAL Articles

  • Cobblestone
    Articles from Cobblestone magazine related to U.S. history, cultures, and ancient history
  • EBSCO (Kids Search, Student Research Center, etc.)
    Collection of several databases - general subjects, subject/language specific, and literature databases containing encyclopedia/reference, magazine, newspaper and journal articles and primary sources on many topics.
  • InfoTrac Student Edition
    Large database of abstracts/ full-text magazine, newspaper and journal articles, podcasts, and reference books, with information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more
  • Proquest
    Periodical database focused mainly on newspaper articles but also contains magazine, newspaper and journal articles on many topics such as history, science, arts, etc.
  • **NEW** Research in Context
    Database geared specifically to middle school students, and aligned to national and state curriculum standards. Contains cross-disciplinary, authoritative content with multimedia in a student-friendly, mobile-responsive interface.
  • **NEW** Science in Context
    Database of information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Integrates authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, and shows how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
  • *New Interface* SIRS Discoverer
    U.S. and international magazines,  U.S. government documents and general encyclopedia reference articles and almanac entries.
 

GALE Virtual Reference Library eBooks

GALE Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a collection of Reference eBooks, searchable and printable from school or home.  A great resource for any topic!

Click the  icon below.

Search all eBooks using the search box at top of page. Click on book cover to search specific eBook.  Citation information is at the top of chapter/section.

Databases - REFERENCE ARTICLES (Various Topics)

  • ABC-CLIO
    Collection of reference article databases: American History, World At War,  Issues and World Geography
  • Cavendish Square Digital
    Collection of Original Content article databases on specific topics: WWII, Family Health, Birds, Reptiles, Wildlife, Habitats, Mammals, Animal & Plant Anatomy, People of Western Asia, Technology and Applied Science, Open for Debate (Current Issues)
  • Country Watch
    Reference article database with historical and current information on countries of the world
  • Culture Grams
    Reference article database about the people and cultures of countries around the world
  • EBSCO (Kids Search, Student Research Center, etc.)
    Collection of several databases - general subjects, subject/language specific, and literature databases containing encyclopedia/reference, magazine, newspaper and journal articles and primary sources on many topics.
  • Facts on File (Infobase Learning)
    Collection of reference article databases on history, science, health, career, literature, and more
  • InfoTrac Student Edition
    Large periodical database of abstracts/ full-text magazine, newspaper and journal articles, podcasts, and reference books, with information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more
  • SIRS Discoverer
    U.S. and international magazines,  U.S. government documents and general encyclopedia reference articles and almanac entries.
  • World Book Online
    General encyclopedia article database. Also access the mobile site using this link on your mobile device (tablet, smartphone.)
 

What is a Database?

 

Differences Between Databases and Web Sites

 

Database Keyword Strategies

 

Database Features - Review

 

Database Features New - Subject Search and Virtual Folders

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip