Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Username/passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username/password information.)
Articles from these databases can be printed out, saved on your personal drive (My Documents) or a flash drive, or e-mailed home.
- Databases cost money to access, are not open to everyone.
- Databases are owned and maintained by a company.
- Databases contain articles from different sources - magazines, newspapers, books, encyclopedias, etc.
- Database articles are good, trustworthy information.
EBSCOhost Kids Search
EBSCO Kids Search:
- Click on Kids Search.
- In the Find box, type your person’s name in this order: “last name, first name”. Click Go.
- If you have too many results, look at the left column that says, Narrow Results by. Under Subject, there should be a subject listed that is your person’s name. Click on it.
- The default is to Sort by Date - meaning the most recent articles are at the top. Click the arrow in the Sort by window and choose Relevance – meaning the best articles related to your person will move to the TOP of the results list.
- Click on the icons (see above) to explore the different types of articles about your person. Be sure to check the Biographies first, and then try looking at Magazines, Books/Encyclopedias or Newspapers articles.
- Click on the Title of an article you want to read. Make sure it has HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text.
- Read the Abstract. This short paragraph gives you a summary of the article and can help you decide if this article is helpful to you.
- If you find a very good article, save the article to your research folder and print it out.
- To SAVE: For PDFs, use the PDF menu at bottom of page and select save icon. For HTML, click Save, then Save again, and then when the save copy is displayed, use your browser’s Save As feature to save to your research folder.
- CITATION Information: Look at the fields at the top of the screen labeled Title, Author, Source. Remember what icon you clicked on above (Biography, Magazine, Newspaper or Books/Encyclopedia) and select that TYPE of article on your citation sheet.
Keyword Search Terms
Keywords when searching for information about a person
Use the person's name: Use person's name in Quotation Marks for exact phrase:
LastName, FirstName "LastName, FirstName"
Washington, George "Washington, George"
FirstName LastName "FirstName LastName"
George Washington "George Washington"