8th Grade Latin - The Early Republic: Databases

 Usernames and passwords are needed if accessing these databases from home. (See your printed Database Pathfinder or Student Agenda (assignment pad) or ask Media Center staff for username/password information.)

Facts on File - Ancient and Medieval History Online

                       (Reference articles)

•    SELECT DATABASE:  Click on Ancient and Medieval History Online.

   Cursus Honorum column:

•    BOX 1 (top left) - search for articles - “government organization in Rome” , “A Political Education” 
  
•    BOX 2 (left center) - search with keyword cursus honorum

   The New Republic column:

•   BOX 2 (center) - search for articles - "A Political Education", "Rome" or "dictator"
•   BOX 3 (bottom center) - search for articles - "A Political Education", "Rome"

    Towards Equality column:

•   BOX 1 (top right) - search for articles -“Roman” scroll to section called  Struggle between Patricians and Plebians
•   BOX 3 (bottom right) - search for articles - “A Political Education”, “Rome”, “oligarchy”, “aristocracy, Greek”

GALE Virtual Reference Library

                              (eBooks)

   Cursus Honorum column:

•    BOX 3 (bottom left) - Search with keyword Caesar  - select article from eBook titled  UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography

   The New Republic column:

•   BOX 1 (top center) - Look for eBook titled - Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government –  look in chapter titled  “Historic Roots of the Legislative Branch”

World Book:  (Reference articles)   

• SELECT DATABASE:  Select World Book Student (pencil icon).
   
• KEYWORDS: Type your keywords (ancient rome, caesar, cicero, etc.) in the search box. Click Search.
  
  

• CITATION INFORMATION:  At bottom of article in this format: Author Name. “Title of Article”. Database Name. Database Company, Publication date. Web. Today’s date.
  
  
• EMAIL/SAVE: Tools box at top of article: Email article home or Save on USB/H drive.

WAMS Research Guide

Use this guide to help you with your research skills and tools.