Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WAMS Research Guide: Identifying Your Topic/Focus

Tutorials and links to help you navigate the research process successfully.

Useful Resources


Look for possible topics by searching databases:

Link to: WAMS Databases


1. Current or Hot Topics

   - Try EBSCO Points of View database (use link above)

   - Try ABC-CLIO Issues database

   - Try ProCon.org website

 

2. Environmental Issues/Topics

   - Try SIRS Discoverer or EBSCO Student Research Center databases

 

3. Topics that are new to you - no prior knowledge


   - Try World Book Student or World Book Advanced (general reference/encyclopedia articles)

   - Try Grolier Online databases (general reference/encyclopedia/multimedia articles)

 

4. Historical Topics

  - Try ABC-CLIO  American History  database

   - Try Facts on File databases on African-American, American Indian,  American Women, Modern World or Ancient and Medieval history

Purpose of Research

Choosing a Topic

Researching a topic that interests you will result in a more successful experience.  Sometimes a specific topic may be assigned, but at other times you will have to identify your own subject.  Selecting a topic for research requires thought and curiosity.

Here are some steps to guide you in choosing a topic:

  • Think about the goals of the assignment and list some topics of personal interest to you.
  • Skim through your textbooks or nonfiction materials and list topics that interest you.
  • Explore the Media Center resources - books, database articles, eBooks, reference books, DVDs or videos - to find possible topics of interest.
  • Talk to friends, parents, teachers and the media specialist about your research assignment
  • Be original!  Don't select a topic just because a friend is doing the same one or because you already know a lot about a topic.  Take this opportunity to explore something new!